President William Ruto was briefed about the scandal that has led to the suspension of officials from KRA, DCI, KEBS, National Police, EACC among other institutions

A scandal involving the irregular release of a consignment of condemned sugar has resulted in the suspension of several high-ranking government officials.

President William Ruto was briefed about the scandal on Wednesday, May 17.

Cabinet Secretaries for National Treasury and Economic Planning Prof Njuguna Ndung’u and as well as Investments, Trade, and Industry Moses Kuria, have taken decisive administrative action following the illegal diversion of the sugar consignment.

The condemned sugar, consisting of 20,000 bags weighing 50 kilograms each, was imported into the country in 2018.

Ministry of Trade and Investments Cabinet Secretary Moses Kuria

The Kenya Bureau of Standards (KEBS) had deemed the consignment unfit for human consumption due to the absence of an expiry date specification.

Consequently, KEBS directed that the consignment be destroyed at the expense of the owner.

The consignment, instead of being appropriately disposed of, was irregularly diverted and released without adherence to proper procedures.

National Treasury and Economic Planning Cabinet Secretary Prof Njuguna Ndung’u who confirmed that a probe targeting companies that have been evading taxes or enjoying tax waivers is underway

The 27 government officials below were suspended pending further investigations.

Kenya Bureau of Standards

Lt. Col (Rtd) Bernard Njiraini, the Managing DirectorDr. Geoffrey Muriira, Director Quality Assurance and InspectionHilda Keror, Manager Inspection, Mombasa Port OfficeListon Lagat, Assistant Manager, ICDN NairobiRono Birgen Chief Manager, ICDN NairobiStephen Owuor, Principal OfficerPeter Olima Joseph – Inspector, Mombasa

Kenya Revenue Authority

Joseph KaguruMwanja MasindeStephen MuiruriMoses OkothDoris MutembeiChacha HondoCarol NyagechiDerick Kago

National Police Service

George MithamoJoel Kirui

Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI)

Bernard NgumbiRaphael Mwaka

Agriculture and Food Authority (AFA)

Oscar KaiPatrick Magut

Other suspended officials

Joseph Maita Mweni (Port Health),Isacko Bonai (NEMA),Stephen Cheruiyot (Anti-Counterfeit Agency),Daniel Ngugi (KEPHIS),Willy Koskei (EACC),K. Edwin Ruto (KPA),